jeffgrillomedia

Just another WordPress.com site

The Training Is Underway

leave a comment »

I guess one could say that I am smack dab in the middle of a mid-life crisis or something. But, suffice it to say that I have leaped into an insane endeavor. On Sunday, I decided to run a marathon. I guess it is kind of a bucket-list kind of thing. I have always said that I thought it would be a cool thing to do, but have never had the drive to get ‘er done. Well, the whim started kickin’ in on Friday, and by Sunday I decided to jump right in. Now, I must say that it is extra crazy as I am NOT a runner. Shoot, I’m 40-something, and am about 45 pounds overweight. Nonetheless, I purposely told enough people that I’m doing this, that I now have to give it my best shot, or suffer the shame!

Anyway, I have decided to post my training updates here on my blog for a number of reasons. First off, again, it’s great to force accountability. I don’t want to have to tell the world I quit or gave up, so, this will hopefully keep me going. Also, perhaps it will serve as inspiration or motivation for others who stumble across it, and need to make some changes in their life. Afterall, if an overweight, over 40, legally blind guy can do this, just about anybody can. Also, when all is said and done, ti will be nice to have a journal to look back over the journey.

My plan is to update this category of my blog once per week. The training process is a 26 week process. Also, there could be additional updates during the week, depending on the particular challenges of the day and how I got it done…or not.

Well, good luck to me!

Leave a Reply

