jeffgrillomedia

Just another WordPress.com site

Delusions in Politics

leave a comment »

I guess I’m about to touch the third rail here.  That’s right, I feel like putting my thoughts out there on the 2012 Presidential race thus far, for what’s it worth.

Alright, first the GOP lineup.

Yesterday Michelle Bachman won the Iowa contest and is the front runner thus far.  Now, I did not have opportunity to see the debate, so this is more commentary on personality than substance.  Bachman to me could possibly be a viable candidate.  Successful attorney, Congresswoman, mother, wife, and let’s not forget great foster parent.  Can she win?  No crystal ball here, but as far as the first female President, she’s got a much better shot than Palen.  Tim Polenty, bu-bye!  Never really thought too highly of this guy.  Basically had the personality and enthusiasm of a wet dishrag.  Herman Kane?  GodFather Pizza CEO, former Gospel singer, etc.  I guess if we are going to be puritanical with respect to the intent of the founding fathers, then sure, bring it on.  No experience necessary.  in fact, there is much I like about the possibility of a successful business person taking the reigns of federal government and possibly leading us out of this financial mess.  We need a sort of financial Moses here.  So, say what you want, I think Kane will add alot to the debates.  Can he win?  Again, crystal ball is in the shop.  But, I’m looking forward to journey.  Santorum, this Thaddeus guy et al, don’t do a thing for me.  As for Romney, he’s sort of Obama-lite to me.  No thank you.  Now, Rick Perry, so far this guy has my vote.  Successful governor of one of the largest states in the Union.  Governer of a border state.  Christian man, not afraid to live and walk his faith on a national stage, detractors be darned!  My dream ticket at the moment is Perry/Bachman.  That’s a ticket I can get excited about.

Now for the DEMs.

Naturally Obama probably will be an uncontested candidate in the primary.  However, here’s what I would love to see.  Now, I’m not a democrat, not by a long shot.  But, I think this would make for an amazing election season.  I would love to Hillary Clinton step down from Secretary of State and throw her hat in the ring and run against Obama.  With Obama checking in with a dismal 39% favorability rating, someone with the guts to run against Obama will assuredly have an easier go of it than if he was a decent leader.

Ok, not using a crystal ball here as previously mentioned twice, but I am going to put my neck out some 14 months in advance of the election.  Here are the results, assuming Obama goes uncontested in the primaries.

Perry  61%

Obama  37%

Other  2%

I’m obviously predicting a landslide regardless of who gets the GOP nomination, but I see it especially huge if Perry takes it.  Let’s face it, historically people vote from the pocketbooks.  The cupboard is bare in America, and fair or not, Obama will lose big because of it.

 

Leave a Reply

