jeffgrillomedia

Just another WordPress.com site

I Just Don’t Get It!

leave a comment »

Yesterday wrapped up week #3 of my marathon training program.  Only 23 weeks to go…sweet.  Now, weeks 1 and 2 made sense.  Lots of struggle, sweat, near death experiences and so forth.  I even lost about 5 to 5 1/2 pounds.  Nice start.  But week 3, obviously the most grueling to date, as each week progressively ratchets up the torture level.  Despite the increased distance and intensity, I somehow managed to gain about 2 pounds.  What in the name of all that is right in the world is up with that?

My wife offered up, (unsolicited by the way), that it could have something to do with the 2 donuts I choked down on Saturday.  I’m certainly not delusional enough to think that I have gained any muscle of significance,  but, how in the name of Dunkin’ Donuts can you gain 2 pounds from that?  I know they are high calorie treats, but 3,500 calories each?  No way.  There is some other conspiracy at work here, and i’m not sure what it is, but when I get my arms around it, I’ll be sure to report it here first.

2 pounds indeed!

i guess the glimmer of hope, and good news is that I improved my 1.5mile running time to 17:11.  Now, I mentioned in an earlier post that I was approaching ‘average.’  But, it turns out I was sadly misinformed.  I pulled out my old manual from the NSCA (national strength and conditioning association), and looked up the normative date.  For my age group, my time on the 1.5 mile run just put me from ‘very poor’ to plain old ‘poor.’  Holy cow!  I still have to go through poor, make it through ‘fair’ and then I will finally achieve average.  How sad.  Funny how good news of improvement can ruin your day!

But, as Paul the Apostle wrote…’I press on towards the mark…’  I’ve got today and tomorrow off, but a crazy rest of the week when it comes to running.  I cap it all off Sunday with a 5 mile pre-church run.  Here’s to even better news next Monday.

 

Written by jeffgrillomedia

August 22, 2011 at 9:14 pm

Leave a Reply

