jeffgrillomedia

Just another WordPress.com site

Beauty Is Skin Deep…But UGLY Goes Straight to the Bone!

leave a comment »

Life is an amazing thing.  Perspective is also pretty amazing.  I love how you can have multiple people witness the same event, separate them, and then have them tell what happened.  Invariably, you will get as  many different stories as you have witnesses.  So, it doesn’t surprise me that I find myself having to blog about the topic of ‘ugly’ today.

There is a professor of economics at the University of Texas/Austin by the name of, Daniel Hemmermesh.  He wrote a book called, “Beauty Pays.”  He is advocating adding the classification of ‘ugly’ to affirmative action, putting it on par with the ADA (Americans with Disabilities Act).  He maintains that ‘ugly’ is as immutable as a persons race, or disability, and therefore concessions ought to be made to protect the ugly.

Personally, I have no idea how to take this.  On the one hand, as a legally blind person I am appalled!  On the other hand, being that I have a number of years under my belt as a radio personality…and have been told I have a ‘face for radio’…I think, hmmm….more opportunity.  Thankfully, good sense is winning out here.  What the h eck?!  I can only hope that th is is some sort of ‘stunt’ aimed at getting attention to drive book sales for this guy.  I tend to think this is part of the problem with education in America today.  It also speaks loudly to why America is in such economic crisis.  We have guys like this clown teaching us economics!

Where does this end, I ask?  Are companies going to be required to hire ugly folk to act in their commercials?  Will strip club owners be forced to hire overweight and butt ugly women to twirl about those poles?  What’s next?  Affirmative action to cover the lazy?  The stupid?  Come on!

On behalf of blind, ugly, overweight, lazy butt dummies everywhere…I say, stop the madness!

 

Written by jeffgrillomedia

August 30, 2011 at 7:29 pm

Leave a Reply

