jeffgrillomedia

Just another WordPress.com site

Upgraded to ‘Fair’

leave a comment »

Ta-Da!

Well, it took five full weeks, but, at long last, I have arrived at ‘fair.’  If you’ve been following the posts in the ‘my marathon’ training category, you know that when I started I was in pathetic shape to say the least.  According to the NSCA (national strength and conditioning association) I had a fitness level off the charts ‘poor.’  Determined to not die before my time, and trying to save face amongst friends, family and my blog readers, I kept on!

During Sunday’s 6mile ‘run’ I clocked my 1.5 mile time and lo and behold, I did it!  I made it into the ‘fair’ fitness level.  I barely made, it but, i made it.  Now I have to cut some serious time off my run and i will be average at long last!

While I’m very excited with my progress, I’m starting to question my ability to actually run, and complete a marathon.  I seem to be sucking air a little less fervently at the end of my runs, compared to when I started, I am in quite a good bit of physical pain.  I spent a good part of Sunday night and Monday hobbling around with some pain in my left knee.  Thanks to the old RICE (rest, ice, compression and elevation) I seem to be in good shape today.  Today is another scheduled rest day, but I have shorter runs the next three days, an off day Saturday and a 7 mile run Sunday. woo hoo?  Ugh!

At any rate…I press on!

I must say at this point I am somewhat surprised that the scheduled running times to seem to be a bit addictive.  I think a significant part of the program is being able to sit down and see each day scheduled out over 26 weeks.  Just focus on one day at a time.  I suggest if you have ever thought of doing something like this.  Get to it!  It’s difficult, but, i think it may draw out of you what you never knew was there.

Good luck!

Written by jeffgrillomedia

September 6, 2011 at 3:08 pm

Leave a Reply

